

General Membership Meeting Minutes

November 11, 2021 at 7:00 pm

Attendees:

Jun Wang Li Yang	Yvette Rivers Brian Davison	Parvathi Rachakonda Shaista Keating
Himanshu Verma Hanning Chen Laura Marschoun Steven Berke	Christine Kleiber Eric Kleiber Monika Kumar Cherry Li	At least 262 additional members
SOA Support Team	Julia Cox	

Location: TJ Cafeteria

The meeting of the TJHSST PTSA was called to order by Ms. Yang at 7:06pm. Ms. Yang determined there was a quorum present and noted the presence of SOA Support Team representatives per the terms of our probation.

Ms. Yang recognized Mr. Wang, who moved to designate Parliamentarian Steven Berke as the interim chair for the meeting. Mr. Chen seconded the motion. A point of order was raised by Mr. Davison asking for a debate on the motion. The chair raised the motion to the general membership. By a show of green cards provided to members upon sign-in, that motion was rejected. The motion to appoint Mr. Berke passed.

Mr. Berke took the gavel. Ms. Marschoun moved for the approval of the agenda. Ms. Yang seconded the motion. Mr. Davison raised a point of order to add an agenda item. Mr. Verma motioned to limit debate to ten minutes. Mr. Wang seconded.

Mr. Davison argued that the agenda should include the membership fee, as he alleged the expenditures of the PTSA were inconsistent with state law. Ms. Marschoun motioned to end the debate. Ms. Yang seconded. Mr. Davison motioned to have the votes be counted, but the chair determined that the overwhelming show of green cards amongst members made such a request

unnecessary. The chair ruled that the motion to include the membership question in the agenda failed. By a show of green cards, the membership then approved the agenda.

Mr. Berke raised the rules of the election for discussion. These had been previously distributed to the membership. Ms. Yang then motioned for the adoption of the rules. Since these were approved by the Executive [Board], Mr. Berke determined that there was no need for her motion to be seconded. Mr. Chen motioned that debate on the rules be limited to a total of fifteen minutes and that debate on each rule be limited to two minutes. Mr. Verma seconded the motion. This motion was not debatable. Mr. Berke determined that Mr. Chen's motion passed.

Ms. Marschoun read the rules. There was no discussion on Rules #1 and #2. A member motioned from the floor to extend the candidates' statements from three to five minutes. The motion was seconded but it did not pass.

Another member motioned to add a five minute question and answer period per candidate. The membership approved a two minute debate on the topic. But, in the opinion of the chair, the motion to include a question and answer period failed.

Mr. Davison moved to extend a candidate's speech to compensate for any interruptions. Mr. Berke determined the motion was superfluous, as the chair would have the discretion to extend the candidate's time to compensate for any disruptions.

There was no discussion on Rules #5 and #6. Mr. Davison motioned to extend debate for ten minutes. The motion failed. Mr. Burke determined that the motion to accept the rules passed. The Rules of the Election were therefore adopted.

The chair opened the discussion for nominations to the presidency. Ms. Rachakonda nominated Yvette Rivers, who indicated that she accepted the nomination. Mr. Chen nominated Mr. Wang, who confirmed he would accept the position if elected. Ms. Chin nominated Mr. Davison, who indicated his acceptance. Ms. Keiber nominated herself. The chair declared the nominations closed.

The chair randomly assigned the order of candidate speeches. Mr. Davison was awarded 20 extra seconds to speak due to interruptions. Mr. Davison withdrew his nomination during his speech. A point of order was raised from the floor questioning the sincerity of Mr. Davison's campaign. The chair ruled that Mr. Davison was within his rights to withdraw.

Mr. Berke asked the remaining candidates to designate their tellers: Mr. Wang designated Mr. Chen; Ms. Rivers designated Ms. Li; Ms. Kleiber designated Mr. Kleiber. The chair then commenced the vote according to the rules. Members placed their ballots in the designated collection boxes. After the vote, the tellers withdrew to count the ballots. The chair served as the chief teller.

After about 10-15 minutes of recess, the chair presented the teller's report: Total votes cast: 277; 222 votes for Ms. Rivers, 32 for Ms. Kleiber and 23 for Mr. Wang. Only 139 was needed for a simple majority. Ms. Rivers received the majority of legal ballots and was elected the new

president. Without objection, the chair ruled that the tally report would be given to the Secretary for her inclusion in the minutes and that the chair would take possession of the ballots and destroy them after the meeting.

Ms. Cox motioned that the election of the President-Elect be brought before the membership. The motion was seconded by Ms. Keating. Mr. Burke ruled the motion out of order due to lack of notice. Ms. Keating appealed the decision of the chair. Ms. Cox seconded. A debate ensued. The membership voted to overrule the chair.

A debate ensued. Students and parents expressed views for and against taking up the question of a president-elect. One member requested the input of the VA PTA SOA representatives. They expressed support for whatever position the majority of the membership adopted. Ms. Rivers indicated a desire to hold off on this election. The motion to elect a president-elect failed.

Mr. Verma presented the financial report to the membership and motioned for its adoption. Ms. Yang seconded. The report was adopted without objection.

Ms. Marschoun presented a uniform bylaws Local Unit Organizational Structure Form to the members, as specified under new guidance by the VA PTA. No questions were raised.

The chair moved for the meeting to end. The motion was seconded. The meeting concluded at 9:10pm.

Minutes Prepared by:	
_aura Marschoun, TJHSST PTSA Secretary	
Minutes Approved asxPresented or	_Amended onMarch 24, 2022